Congrats, Award Winners!

Congratulations to the winners of the 15th Annual YAAG awards program! Each winner was recognized on Friday, May 9, during a presentation at OZ Architecture in Denver.

Download the press release. To view photos from the event, visit our Facebook page.

Juried Awards
The following 12 awards and honorable mentions were selected from entries submitted by firms, designers, students and young architects (licensed 10 years or less) from across the state. The entries were judged by a jury of architects and community leaders, including Harvey Hine, AIA; Maria Cole, AIA; Andrea Springer, Assoc. AIA; Rick Peterson; Rick Sommerfeld, Assoc. AIA; Jo Vandenburg; and Christopher O’Hara, P.E., PA; facilitated by Jury Chair Dr. Mark Gelernter, Ph.D., Assoc. AIA, Dean of the College of Architecture and Planning at the University of Colorado Denver.

Katie Donahue, Assoc. AIA
Emerging Professional of the Year
Winner: Katie Donahue, Assoc. AIA

Emerging Professional Development by a Firm
Emerson Lofts
Built Architecture
Winner: Lloyd (Chris) Fulenwider, AIA
Project: Emerson Lofts

Honorable Mention
Project: Hozho House

Team: Shawn Adams, AIAS; Erica Alfaro; Patrick Beseda; Gregory Behlen; Anastasia Chmel; Megan Garret; Patricia Gut; Amy Keil, Assoc. AIA; Anna Huey, AIAS; Henry Rahn, AIAS; Foster Ramsey; Scott Rank, AIAS; Joey Stevenson; Dana Trill; Iassen Vladimirov, AIAS; Megan Voiles; Seth Willison; Kristin Zuro, AIAS; Catalina Pedraza, AIAS; Lacy Williams
Telluride Bathhouse
Unbuilt Architecture
Winner: John Gibbons
Project: Telluride Bathhouse
The Lab at Point Lobos
Craftsmanship - Architectural
Winner: Shannon Ferguson
Project: The Lab at Point Lobos

Honorable Mention: Michael Reilly
Project: Point Lobos Dive Center
Pulp Wall Project
Craftsmanship - Artistic
Winners: Yandy Cheng, AIAS; Katie Donahue, Assoc. AIA;
Mason Limke

Project: The Pulp Wall Installation
Bubble Garden
Interior Architecture
Winner: Paul Andersen, AIA; Jason King
Project: The Bubble Garden
Skow House
Most Sustainable Project
No Winner

Honorable Mention:
Project: Skow House
Team: Will Koning, Assoc. AIA; Ellen Adams, Assoc. AIA; Brett Blackmon, Assoc. AIA; Lura Blumenfled; Jay Burkhalter; Glen Camuso, Assoc. AIA; Jacob Ebling, Assoc. AIA; William Koning, Assoc. AIA; William Murray; JD Signom, Assoc. AIA; Rebecca Sockwell
Iassen Vladimirov, AIAS
Student Portfolio
Winner: Iassen Vladimirov, AIAS

Honorable Mention: John Gibbons

Online Awards
New this year, emerging professionals submitted their work into 10 people's choice voting categories. Nine awards were presented.

Where's Waldo? - The Most Creative Use of a Scaled Figure
Winner: Alicia Johannesen, Assoc. AIA

Kickin' It Beaux Arts - Rendering Done by Hand
Winner: Chris Toothaker

To the Cloud - Best Digital Rendering
Winner: Chris Toothaker

Divine Detail - Best Architectural Detail
Winner: Will Babbington, AIA

Phenomenology - Best Use of Innovative Materials
Winners: Yandy Cheng, AIAS; Katie Donahue, Assoc. AIA;
Mason Limke

Blur the Line -
Best Example of Relationship between Interior & Exterior

Winner: Adam Harding, AIA

The Artist Formerly Known as [insert elevation symbol here] -
Best Example of an Elevation
Winner: Katie Donahue, Assoc. AIA

FLO - Best Site Solution/Creativity with Landscape
Winner: Charles Starr, Assoc. AIA

Project Runway Award - Best Dressed Emerging Professional
Winner: Korey White, Assoc. AIA

Thank You!

We'd like to thank all of our guests for showing their support of the Emerging Professional community. We would also like to give a special thanks to our sponsors who helped make the evening possible!


Special Thanks
College of Architecture and Planning, University of Colorado Denver

Humphries Poli Architects
USI Colorado LLC

Anderson Hallas Architects, PC
Anderson Mason Dale Architects
CAD-1, Inc.
H+L Architecture
HDR Architecture
Roth Sheppard Architects
Shears Adkins Rockmore Architects
Tryba Architects

Boulder Associates Architects
Building Area Measurement LLC
Haselden Construction
IBI Group
Lantz-Boggio Architects PC
Maria E. Cole, AIA
Path21 Architecture
Studio B Architects
Studio NYL Structural Engineers

LaFarge Architects, LLC
Mary Morissette, FAIA and Guy Morissette
Vintage View

Past Winners

Click here for an archive of previous winners.